Berwick upon Tweed Golf Club
Launched in 1890 on links land called Goswick (Goose Farm) by the Romans, the Berwick-upon-Tweed driver lies six kilometers south associated with Border Town of Berwick, and boasts views regarding the North-Sea and to the south, Holy Island and Bamburgh Castle. A design of James Braid, the first nine-holes had been extended to eighteen in 1894 while Frank Pennink made some amendments into initial nine in 1964.
a turning lane between arable areas achieves Goswick hyperlinks amongst the railway while the dune-lined shoreline. Backlinks lie either side of the club, forward nine on north, right back nine towards the south. There was small to select involving the two nines, both being equally diverse in surface and challenge.
The very first increases uphill as a dogleg and is followed closely by a brief 2nd across a chasm. The 3rd happens to be the longest par four from the course at 437 yards. Subjected to the weather, the process on front nine is variously dunes, out of bounds on 6th and 7th and contoured greens, most notably on moderate length par four 8th.
A lengthy par four – 425 yards – opens up the next one half, before a par five in addition to 12th, Pilgrim's Way with a narrow landing area off the tee and a blind 2nd chance.
The mid-point of second half is one of scenic and uses a climb through the 14th green which will be enclosed by mountains on both edges. a par three employs, and even though the final is only medium length, 16 can deceive after a blind tee shot, 17 requires treatment, therefore the relatively brief eighteenth is tempting, but a wayward chance brings punishment from slope or bunker.
Include the variable of this winds regarding the East Coast, and rather an experience awaits on a training course, which now steps 6, 800 yards from the championship shirts. Berwick-upon-Tweed Golf Club was also an Open Championship Regional Qualifying course until 2012.